Gradu-WHAT?

Well hello there! Long time no blog.

Let me give you a little update on my teaching journey, since it has been so long since I have visited this place!

 

FALL

This past fall I completed my last semester of classes as an undergrad! I enjoyed my classes and I VERY much enjoyed taking my last finals ever! I had a nice relaxing semester with fewer credits. Fencing took up most of the semester and I earned an E rating in foil (my weapon). To non-fencers this doesn’t mean much, but it’s what I’ve been working towards for the past 4 years at school! 🙂

 

CURRENTLY

Currently I am on an extremely long winter break (6 weeks). [Do they actually want us to graduate? Man it’s so long! Haha] So far I have substituted, worked on job applications, cover letters, surfed around for teaching ideas, and took the RVE! I get my test scores in a week or so. Here’s to hoping I pass, since this will be the last VA Cert test I need to take!!!  *fingers crossed*

 

SPRING

I received my student teaching placements for the spring a few days before leaving for winter break. I will have a placement in regular ed and special ed since I will have dual certifications.  I have been placed at a lovely school about 20 minutes away from my university. I had the pleasure of visiting my school and cooperating teachers before break and I could not be more thrilled! The school, faculty, kids, and my cooperating teachers are just wonderful. My first placement is in learning support for 3rd, 5th, 6th, and 7th grade. I am extremely excited about being in the upper grades for this placement. My second placement is in a 2nd grade classroom!  I haven’t done a lot of work with second grade yet, so I am extremely excited for this opportunity.

 

Overall, I am just thrilled that I am almost there! Graduation is now actually in sight and written in my planner. I would like to try to update my website/blog every day with daily posts, however this may not be possible. I will shoot to update twice a week with ideas, thoughts, etc on my teaching and practice.  I never got around to typing up all of my teaching entries from my junior block. I admit, I got a little lazy at the end of it with writing entries. (Life got a little busier too, as it always does).

 

Here’s to an exciting Spring and last semester at IUP!

 

Ms. Schmidt

Leave a Reply

